Open Road Logo

The following copy and video are from the Open Road Integrated America Website.

Open Road video page

Newbery Award Winners January 4, 2012

“It was an entrance into this beautiful world of children’s literature,” says author Jean Craighead George of winning the 1973 Newbery Award for her novel Julie of the Wolves. “Authors began to see the children’s literature world as something important instead of something second-rate.”

Since 1922, the American Library Association has annually awarded the Newbery Medal, the Oscar of children’s literature, to an author in recognition of the year’s most distinguished children’s book. The runners-up, deemed Honor Books, celebrate other notable titles of the year. Open Road Media proudly boasts eight Newbery Award winners and Honor Books in its growing catalog of children’s books.

Watch this video to see how this prestigious award affected the lives of Newbery Medalists Virginia Hamilton and Jean Craighead George.

Credit: Open Road Integrated Media